Jeff Stewart Receives Friend of Extension Award

The Friend of Extension Award was presented to Jeff Stewart at the annual Community Development Awards Program held at the Neshoba County Coliseum on January 23rd.

Jim McAdory, Ad & Natural Resources Specialist with the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians for the Mississippi State University Extension Service, presented the Friend of Extension Award to Jeff for his promotion of Extension Programs and Services on his morning radio show - "The StewDaddy Morning Show" every other week on Thursday mornings on 102.3 WWSL-FM.  The entire extension service recognized the significant contribution of Jeff in promoting the various activities, programs and resources of the extension service in service to the community of Neshoba and surrounding counties.  "The Stew Daddy Morning Show" can be heard from 6:00 AM until 9:00 AM each weekday on 102.3FM with the extension service program every other Thursday.  Congratulations Jeff and thank you for your service to our community.

The Annual Community Development Awards Program is held to recogize the achievements of volunteers in service to our community and is sponsored by the Community Development Partnership and the Neshoba County Extension Service.  Door prizes were awarded from various businesses around Philadelphia.  Attendees also enjoyed refreshments.  Those recognized for service this past year include:

Friend of Extension - Jeff Stewart

Community Development Club Awards 

Club of the Year

1st Place - Neshoba Community Development Club

2nd Place - Dixon Community Development Club

Secretary of the Year

1st Place - Dixon

2nd Place - Neshoba

Homemaker Volunteer of The Year - Darlene Sistrunk

Community Spirit Award - Marlo Beason

Literacy Council Volunteers of the Year - Tina Harris & Roberta Byars

Master Gardner Volunteer of the Year - Carlene Butler

Volunteer Firefighters of the Year

Arlington - George Holdiness

County Line - David Gardner

Dixon - Zachary Jackson

East Neshoba - Neal King

House - Ben Higginbotham

Linwood - Tia Graff

Longino - Jim Houston

North Bend - Jacob Stewart

Stallo - Yvonne Moore

Tucker - Kevin Smith

Fire Department of the Year

Mattie Hudson of State Farm Insurance presented Linwood Volunteer Fire Department the Fire Department of the Year award.

The Neshoba County Board of Supervisors extends a very grateful Thank You to all of the award receipients and appreciates the tremendous work performed by volunteers in service to their community and for helping to ensure that Neshoba County is a wonderful place to live and work.